Dinner: Parmesan Honey Pork Roast – by KittenJen

Parmesan Honey Pork Roast
(After 7 hours in the crock pot it just fell apart when I stuck a fork in it)
Now when I make this I add the cornstarch slurry to the juices in the slow cooker about 30 minutes before its totally done, so I can pour the thick sauce over the roast., I also use real Parmesan cheese that I grated.
But this is the original recipe as written, and the link where I found it.
http://www.joyouslydomestic.com/2013/01/slow-cooker-parmesan-honey-pork-roast.html
Ingredients:
1 (3 – 4 pound) boneless pork roast (1 kg)
⅔ cup grated Parmesan cheese (yes, the powdered kind in the shaker canister) (85gr)
½ cup honey ( 170 g)
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon dried basil
2 tablespoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons olive oil
½ teaspoon salt

For Thickening Sauce
2 tablespoons cornstarch
¼ cup cold water (60ml)

Instructions:
Spray slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray. Place roast in slow cooker.
In a small bowl, combine the cheese, honey, soy sauce, basil, garlic, oil and salt. (I found the mixture to be a little too thick to pour over the roast [as instructed in the next step of the recipe], so I added in a tad bit of water to the mixture – maybe 1/2 – 1 cup.)
Pour over pork.
Cover and cook on low for 6 – 7 hours or until a meat thermometer reads 160°F.(70C)
Remove meat to a serving platter and keep warm. (I cover mine with a little foil.)
Skim fat from cooking juices, if needed or desired. Transfer to a small saucepan. Bring liquid to a boil. Combine cornstarch and the 1/2 cup water until smooth. Gradually stir into pan. (I found that I did not need all of the cornstarch slurry.) Bring to a boil. Cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Slice roast and serve with gravy. (I didn’t use all of the sauce.)

About mogway

Everyone sees what you appear to be, few experience what you really are! I usually give people more chances than they deserve but once I'm done, I'm done. I'm a bitch with wifi
This entry was posted in Cooking with Amber, Dinner, KittenJen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

